Find the EGU on

Follow us on Twitter Find us on Facebook Find us on Google+ Find us on LinkedIn Find us on YouTube

Tag your tweets with #egu2013

Programme Committee

Programme Committee Chair


Gert-Jan Reichart


Programme Committee Executive Board

Copernicus Managing Director

Martin Rasmussen

Copernicus Meetings Project Manager

Katja Gänger

EGU President

Donald Bruce Dingwell

EGU Vice-President

Günter Blöschl

EGU General Secretary

Mioara Mandea

EGU Treasurer

Roland Schlich

EGU Executive Secretary

Philippe Courtial

Chair EGU Outreach Committee

Niels Hovius


PC Officer for Outreach to Young Scientists


Jennifer Holden



Programme Group Chairs & Science Officers

US – Union Symposia

US Programme Group Chair

Gert-Jan Reichart


EG – Europe in Geosciences

EG Programme Group Chair

Gert-Jan Reichart


EOS – Educational and Outreach Symposia

EOS Programme Group Chair

Carlo Laj


AS – Atmospheric Sciences

AS Programme Group Chair

Oksana Tarasova


Ulrich Achatz

Boundary Layer Processes

Neil Wells

Atmospheric Chemistry and Aerosols

Astrid Kiendler-Scharr


BG – Biogeosciences

BG Programme Group Chair

Gert-Jan Reichart

Freshwater Biogeosciences

Tom J. Battin
Stephan Glatzel

Paleo Biogeosciences

Albert Benthien

Geomicrobiology and Extreme Environments

Tina Treude

Astrobiology & Early Evolution of Life

Emmanuelle Javaux

Terrestrial Biogeosciences

Jürgen Kesselmeier

Earth System Biogeosciences

Andy Ridgwell

Marine Biogeosciences

Caroline Slomp


CL – Climate: Past, Present & Future

CL Programme Group Chair

Denis-Didier Rousseau


CR – Cryospheric Sciences

CR Programme Group Chair

G. Hilmar Gudmundsson

Other CR Programme Group Science Officer

Jürg Schweizer


EMRP – Earth Magnetism & Rock Physics

EMRP Programme Group Chair

Georg Dresen

Rock Physics

Georg Dresen


Angelo De Santis


Jérôme Gattacceca


ERE – Energy, Resources and the Environment

ERE Programme Group Chair

Michael Kühn


ESSI – Earth & Space Science Informatics

ESSI Programme Group Chair

Stefano Nativi

Community-driven challenges and solutions dealing with Informatics

Kerstin Lenhert
Giuseppe Manzella

Multi-disciplinary challenges and solutions across the Earth and Space Sciences

Horst Schwichtenberg
Wim Som de Cerff
Paolo Mazzetti

Visualization for scientific discovery and communication

John Blower
Mohan Ramamurthy


G – Geodesy

G Programme Group Chair

Markku Poutanen


Michael Schmidt
Johannes Bouman


GD – Geodynamics

GD Programme Group Chair

J. Huw Davies

Plate Tectonics; Passive and Divergent Margins

Jeroen van Hunen

Crust and Lithosphere Dynamics

Magdalena Scheck-Wenderoth

Convergent Margins and Subduction

Susanne Buiter

Mantle Dynamics

Paul Tackley

Core Dynamics

Hagay Amit

Methods and Observations in Geodynamics

J. Huw Davies


GI – Geosciences Instrumentation and Data Systems

GI Programme Group Chair

Walter Schmidt


GM – Geomorphology

GM Programme Group Chair

Andreas Lang

GM Programme Group Deputy Chairs

Jens Turowski
Wolfgang Schwanghart

Other GM Programme Group Science Officers

Peter van der Beek
John Hillier
Arnaud Temme


GMPV – Geochemistry, Mineralogy, Petrology & Volcanology

GMPV Programme Group Chair

Nicholas Arndt

GMPV Programme Group Deputy Chair

Mike Burton


Max Wilke
Alexandra Gourlan
Rais Latypov


HS – Hydrological Sciences

HS Programme Group Chair

Gerrit de Rooij


Steffen Birk

Vadose Zone Hydrology

Marnik Vanclooster

Catchment Hydrology

Laurent Pfister

Water Management, Operation and Control

Wouter Buytaert

Remote Sensing and Data Assimilation

Niko Verhoest

Precipitation and Climate

Alin Carsteanu

Ecohydrology, Limnology, and Estuaries

Stan Schymanski

Hydrological Forecasting

Elena Toth
Jan Szolgay

Erosion, Sedimentation and River Processes

Marcel van der Perk


Robert J. Abrahart

Hydrological Sciences Short Courses

Miriam Coenders
Laurent Pfister

Hydrological Sciences Co-Listed Sessions

Gerrit de Rooij

IG – Isotopes in Geosciences: Instrumentation and Applications

IG Programme Group Chair

Pier de Groot

Programme Group Science Officer

Roland Bol
Erik Kerstel


NH – Natural Hazards

NH Programme Group Chair

Stefano Tinti

Hydro-Meteorological Hazards

Giorgio Boni

Volcanic Hazards

August Gudmundsson

Landslide Hazards

Janusz Wasowski

Earthquake Hazards

Gert Zöller

Sea & Ocean Hazards

Ira Didenkulova

Snow Avalanches & Glacial Hazards

Mohamed Naaim

Wildfire Hazards

Rosa Lasaponara

Biological, Environmental & Other Hazards

Jennifer A. Holden

Natural Hazards & Society

Oded Katz


NP – Nonlinear Processes in Geosciences

NP Programme Group Chair

Henk A. Dijkstra

Dynamical Systems Approaches to Problems in the Geosciences

Stefano Pierini

Time Series and Patterns

Reik Donner

Nonlinear Stochastics

Mickael D. Chekroun

Scales, Scaling and Nonlinear Variability

Shaun Lovejoy

Turbulence, Transport and Diffusion

Jose M. Redondo

Nonlinear Waves

Vincent Rey


Olivier Talagrand

Other NP Programme Group Science Officer

Daniel Schertzer


OS – Ocean Sciences

OS Programme Group Chair

Bernard Barnier

Deep Oceans & Ocean Climate

Peter Brandt

Ocean Biogeochemistry

Carol Robinson

Operational Oceanography & Instruments

Ananda Pascual

Shelf Seas & Coastal Oceanography

Johan van der Molen


PS – Planetary and Solar System Sciences

PS Programme Group Chair

Athena Coustenis


Iannis Dandouras
Hermann Opgenoorth

Outer Planets

Jean-Pierre Lebreton
Glenn Orton

Dust and Small Bodies

Ralf Srama
Harald Krüger

Terrestrial Planets

Ruth Ziethe
Ozgur Karatekin
Agustin Chicarro


Christian Erd
Lutz Richter

Origins & Astrobiology

Helmut Lammer
François Raulin


Daniel Winterhalter
James Cho

Modeling and Experimental Work in Planetology

Francisco Javier Martin-Torres
Luigi Colangeli


SM – Seismology

SM Programme Group Chair

Charlotte Krawczyk


SSP – Stratigraphy, Sedimentology & Palaeontology

SSP Programme Group Chair

Darren Gröcke


SSS – Soil System Sciences

SSS Programme Group Chair

Artemi Cerdà

Soil Chemistry

Claudio Zaccone

Soil Physics

Nunzio Romano

Soil biology, microbiology and biodiversity

Fuensanta García Orenes

Soil Pollution and Reclamation

Jaume Bech

Soil as a record of the past

Jan van Mourik

Soil, environment and ecosystem interactions

David Dunkerley

History and Society of Soil Science

Eric Brevik

Soil organic matter

Bas van Wesemael

Land Degradation and Soil Conservation

Erik Cammeraat

Soils and Agriculture

Leonor Rodríguez Sinobas


ST – Solar-Terrestrial Sciences

ST Programme Group Chair

Norma Crosby

Solar Physics

Volker Bothmer


Natalia Ganushkina
Steve Milan


Olga Malandraki


Jan Laštovièka


TS – Tectonics and Structural Geology

TS Programme Group Chair

Fabrizio Storti

General Contributions

Susanne Buiter

Brittle Deformation

Daniel Koehn

Ductile Deformation, Metamorphism and Magmatism

Laurent Montesi

Interplay between Tectonics and Surface Processes

Carole Petit

Extensional Tectonic Settings

Gwenn Peron-Pinvidic

Convergent Tectonic Settings

Mark Allen

Strike-Slip Tectonic Settings

Dickson Cunningham

Earthquakes and Tectonics

Mustapha Meghraoui

Methods and Techniques in Tectonics and Structural Geology

Marcel Frehner

Regional Tectonics

Guillermo Booth-Rea


GDB – Great Debates in Geosciences

GDB Programme Group Chair

Gert-Jan Reichart


SC – Short Courses

SC Programme Group Chair

Gert-Jan Reichart